Nebraska State Genealogical Society Logo
The Nebraska State Genealogical Society welcomes you.
NSGS Library Collection
NSGS Library Collection
Sue Schlichting
Sue Schlichting: Conference 2023
NSGS 2017 Banquet
NSGS 2017 Banquet: NSGS 2017 Banquet attendees

NSGS Genealogist of the Year

Each year the Nebraska State Genealogy Society offers an award to one genealogist or family historian for exceptional and outstanding service to his or her local genealogical society and the genealogy community as a whole. Nominations are sought from all the genealogical societies and organizations in the state. The NSGS board then selects the winner from the nominations received, and a Genealogist of the Year is recognized at the Annual Conference each spring. 
2023 Genealogist of the Year
Cindy Cochran 
Cindy Cochran, Lincoln-Lancaster County Gen Soc - Cindy took on the unenviable task of organizing and revitalizing the LLCGS library. With her library expertise, she effectively cataloged, processed and entered into World Catalog. She was instrumental in finding a new location and organizing the move from Union College Library to the current location. Cindy also serves as the LLCGS archivist, maintaining the records of the society. Cindy has over 40 years of experience as a librarian, archivist and genealogist.
2022 Genealogist of the Year
Shannon Justice
The Nebraska State Genealogical Society has chosen to honor one of our own as the 2022 Genealogist of the Year. Shannon Justice is well-deserving of this award for her enthusiasm for cemetery preservation and restoration alone, but she has done much more in the interest of Nebraska Genealogy. For 25 years, she has been researching her family history as well as volunteering with many non-profits that have a focus on genealogy and/or history. She has been a member of over 10 local genealogical societies as she “likes to support the societies in the locations where I do research, whether that is for my own genealogy or the genealogy of my clients.” 
Besides being the Editor of the Nebraska Ancestree and an Area Representative for the Omaha region for NSGS, Shannon is or has been actively involved in many genealogy and cemetery organizations. An all-around nice, friendly person who is always able and willing to help anyone with Nebraska genealogy, Shannon’s infectiously positive attitude has been a great asset to the Board of NSGS. We are pleased to honor Shannon Justice as our 2022 Genealogist of the Year.
Past Genealogist of the Year award winners: 
2008 Denny Norvell, Auburn
2009 Kenneth Freeman Moseman
2010 Mary Landkamer, Broken Bow
2011 Ruby Coleman, North Platte
2012 Sue Doak, McCook (SWNGS)
2013 Judi Cook, Lincoln (LLCGS)
2014 Sandra Slater, Holdrege
2015 Phyllis Ericson, Lincoln (LLCGS)
2016 Rosalie McKnight, Broken Bow 
2017 Ruth Briney, Lincoln (LLCGS)
2018 R. J. "Chris" Christensen, Curtis (SWNGS)
2019 Clarabelle "Clair" Mares (Eastern Nebraska Genealogical Society)
2020 Teresa Sullivan, Lincoln (LLCGS)
2022 Shannon Justice, Omaha (GOGS) 
‚Äč2023 Cindy Cochran (LLCGS)